Love teaching

Like a lot of teachers, I fell into the profession. After years of self-doubt I found I was OK at it, and I have increasingly enjoyed teaching music.

I once reassured Nancy Hadden, the baroque flute player, about the importance of music: “Since what-we-humans-are is so greatly determined by our environment, and since the most potent influence in our environment is other people, anything to do with communication between people is of the highest importance.”

Overseeing a productive meeting between pupil and subject is one of the best things you can do in life. Hooray for teachers!

6 Responses to “Love teaching”

  1. samwell Says:

    nice one

  2. malo Says:

    I am not such a good teacher. I always think it would be better if I had a method, but since I am anti-dogma, I can’t begin to formulate one. So my students and I fart around and in the end maybe they get what they need, but maybe not.

  3. pmr Says:

    I, as well, fell into teaching and really loved it. For those of you who don’t know, I gave classes in management for students taking a masters degree in tourism in Perpignan (France) for a few years.
    My first class nearly did for me. I drove from Gignac (near Montpellier) to Perpignan in a terrible storm. In normal circumstances this journey takes an hour and a half but this one took an extra hour. Being a son of my father I had given myself 3 hours. Which was just as well for when I arrived I found that the university had changed the lecture hall to another venue in the middle of town. Which I had to find. Without a GPS. I arrived on the dot.
    Every year I would start the first class in English – “The university administration has requested that I take these classes in English” – and watched as the majority of the students looked downcast and began to switch off. I quickly continued – “Mais je refuse!” – and from then on only spoke French. It was a case of asking why I should refuse the request and getting all to agree that they were there to learn to learn about management and not to have additional English lessons.
    I also pointed out, and this may help Malo, that in my view management cannot be taught but has to be learnt. In others words they had to do all the work while I did nothing except to act as a catalyst to help them learn a little faster and, if you can get it right, to inspire them.
    It is interesting to note that if the proposed Manchester City deal with Kaka goes ahead then he will earn more in a month (after taxes no less) than Sarah will earn in her lifetime as a teacher (and that before taxes)! For those of you who don’t know who (not what) Kaka is ask Samwell.
    Another aside, I learnt punctuality more from Phyllis (how not to). In later years this was reinforced by the Boss’s example.

  4. samwell Says:

    pmr, i reckon that many of the readers of this blog will not know who kaka is. and not to their credit.

  5. recumbentman Says:

    Au contraire! Big money makes the news headlines, even when it is turned down; though you are both probably right to suppose that we don’t often open the sports pages.

  6. Aoife Says:

    I also found I enjoy teaching (bushcraft), especially tying knots, although I do have to learn not to help people too much and just let them get on with it. It’s quite a skill to let people learn from their mistakes. I love encouraging people, I always think of mum encouraging her pupils and the rapport she has with them.

Leave a Reply

